I’m leaving on a jet plane…Don’t know when I’ll be back again.

It is with one of the most over-used song lyrics in the history of forever that I embark on one of the biggest journeys of my life (so far). My existence has been reduced to two 40 pound bags stuffed with clothes, shoes and climbing gear, a duffel bag full of who knows what and a backpack with books, journals and snacks.

I’ve left my room at home barren…well sort of. The walls are actually bare,  my bed is made (for the first time in months), my books are in boxes and stacked around the perimeter of my room and there are no clothes on the floor (since I have space to put them in my drawers now). I have my passport, my visa, and my hopes and dreams all stashed in my shoulder bag. I’m debating not sleeping tonight so I can just pass out on the plane ride and wake up at my destination.

We leave tomorrow morning at about 9, drive to JFK, and then my plane leaves at 2:30. After 6.5 hours in the air, I’ll arrive in San Fransisco, where I’ll have an hour to book it to the other side of the airport and get on my plane to New Zealand. From there, it’s a short 13 hour flight to Auckland, where I’ll arrive at 5 am New Zealand time on the 16th. Once I arrive there, it’s another 2-3 hours to Wellington. Then I get picked up and start to get myself situated.

Am I ready? If I keep telling myself I am, then I will be.

Am I excited? Absolutely.

Am I scared? Terrified, actually. I’m leaving everything and everyone I know.  If I wasn’t scared I would be an utter idiot. But, this is something I need to do to grow and challenge myself. I can’t lead a boring life. As someone special said to me yesterday, “…want to be in stories, not tell them.”

Am I going to miss you all? DUH. But, I’m only a few lines of text away, so don’t be a stranger. They do, in fact, have internet in New Zealand. And if you miss my pretty face, then Skype me. I look forward to seeing all of you. And if you really want to have some fun, then send me some snail mail. You’ll get a letter back in no time. :)

This is just the beginning. I hope to keep this updated at least once a week. I plan to have quite a few adventures to write about in the mean time.

This is Molly the (future) Librarian, signing off.

E noho ra. (That’s goodbye…for now).

Leave a Reply

