In which Miss Molly wants pie.

Our library has been updating our series. This means we are going through the shelves and making sure that, of the series we own, that we have all of books. We check the amount of circs each book gets, the condition, if there are prequels, sequels, etc. The fun part of this is that I get to see books that might otherwise escape my notice. That’s the case with today’s review. It came across my desk, and while it’s not a series, it got my attention.

I mean, how could it not? It appears to be about pie! And a very fat cat. Who doesn’t love that? *Children’s Librarian alert: Unintentional Rhyming*

Pie by Sarah Weeks

pie

Summary

Alice’s favorite person in the world is her aunt Polly, the Pie Queen of Ipswitch. Polly has put Ipswitch on the map by winning more prestigious Blueberry awards than anyone before. When Polly passes away, she takes her super secret, and highly coveted, pie crust recipe with her to the grave. Or does she?

It appears that Polly left her recipe to her cat, Lardo. And her cat, she’s left to Alice. Suddenly the entire town is in a pie baking frenzy and hoping to win the next big award, reporters are snooping around trying to find the scoop on the recipe, and someone catnaps Lardo! It’s up to Alice and her friend Charlie to figure out this mystery before it’s too late.

What I liked

This book was adorable. It was a gentle mystery and not too strenuous. It was sweet, dealt with the death of a loved one, standing up for yourself, and doing what’s right. It was funny and had a nice ending. And it included a whole bunch of pie recipes. I didn’t get to attempt any before I returned the book, but they looked delicious. And reading an entire book focused around pie really makes you crave a slice.

What I didn’t like

Honestly, not much. I thought it was very well done. The only real complaint I have is with the relationship that Alice had with her mother. The change in her attitude at the end was a little abrupt, and she seemed very petty throughout. I am glad it all worked out, but wished it was handled a little differently.

My final recommendation: read it! It was absolutely sweet, in all senses of the word. And if you do, make one of the pies! And tell me how it comes out.

Leave a Reply

