In which Miss Molly contemplates a fake mustache.

Fake Mustache: Or, How Jodie O’Rodeo and Her Wonder Horse (and Some Nerdy Kid) Saved the U.S. Presidential Election from a Mad Genius Criminal Mastermind

By Tom Angleberger

mustache

Summary

Lenny Flem Jr. doesn’t have many friends. His one good friend is Casper. Lenny and Casper enjoy spending their time at the joke shop, Sven’s Fair Price Store. There are costumes, tricks, sticky hands, bouncy balls, fake vomit, you name it. But, that’s not all. There are also glorious fake mustaches; mustaches so convincing, so magnificent, so real that they transform you when you put them on. When Casper purchases a super deluxe mustache model, the Heidelberg Handlebar #7, a mustache that has a complex history and dominating past. With the Heidelberg Handlebar #7, Casper becomes an evil mastermind bent on world domination. What starts out as a small-time bank robbery quickly escalates to running for political office, all fueled by mustache mania, persuasion, and hypnosis. Soon, Lenny is Casper’s only opposition. Or will he too fall prey to Casper’s mustached mania?

With the help of Jodie O’Rodeo, tv star and Lenny’s celebrity crush, Lenny attempts to overthrow Casper’s growing regime of evil henchmen, and restore balance to the world.

What I liked

I have a strange fascination with mustaches. I don’t know why. I just love them and what they represent. Especially grandiose ones.

mustache 2

 I mean, look at him! He looks like he could be tons of fun!

I love when mustaches are sported by villains. Probably because it reminds me of when villains were easy to spot; when they were easy to defeat.

Hook

So I’m a Romantic—sue me!

Also, it is almost impossible not to smile when you see someone with a glorious mustache.

glorious

Anyway, facial hair aside, I really enjoyed this book. I was funny, silly, and just a good read. Tom Angleberger also writes the Origami Yoga books, which I know are extremely popular in my library. We can’t seem to keep them on the shelves.

This book was just fun. I heartily enjoyed it. Cross-dressing preteens, horse-riding girls, stolen mustaches, rigged elections, an assassin with an agenda…what’s not to love?

What I didn’t like

Again…nothing. I had too much fun with this book. It was a quick read, something to make you remember the good in the world without having a heavy handed message. Pure silliness.

Leave a Reply

