In which Miss Molly writes haikus.

No matter how much I love my job, and how awesome programming is, and how happy of a person I am in general, I sometimes have bad days. You know those days, when nothing seems to go right, and there’s a little black cloud following you around, and your shoe has a hole in it which you only found out about because you stepped in a puddle?

Yeah. Those are the worst.

Sometimes I get wrapped up in those black cloud moments, and they can ruin my day, or ruin a couple days. I am trying to get better and climbing out of that hole quickly, and I found that the best way to do that is to do something ridiculous that makes you smile.

So, I got to thinking, what makes me smile?

Cooking, baking, sweets, working out, friends, rock climbing, nature.

What makes me smile at work?

The kids, awesome programming, the psychedelic strap for my flash drive, the little Lego Batman figurine by the desk, being surrounded by books.

Yes, that is a silly list, but it helps. I also find that writing helps.

So, I turned my frustrations into silly haikus that I then used as advertising for my story time programming.

Like this one:

There was a young lady, Miss Molly,
Who read tons of books on the trolley.
She invites you to join,
Won’t cost you a coin,
Missing storytime is a great folly.

Or this one:

There are many great books to be read,
Which put big ideas in your head.
Fine fun and pure pleasure,
Is life’s greatest treasure.
“It’s Storytime,” Miss Molly said.

Just a bit of stuff and nonsense to make myself smile. As you may or may not know, my BA was in English, with a creative writing minor. I focused on fiction, primarily, but I did dabble in nonfiction and poetry to keep my options open. And being limited in my choices can be infuriatingly annoying.

Ok, one more:

There once was a book on the shelf.
I picked it up twice, myself.
I read and I read.
Laughed, cried, went to bed.
Come experience it for yourself.

Basically, make sure that whatever you’re doing, you’re happy about it. And if you’re having a sad day, in the words of the great Barney Stinson, “…stop being sad and be awesome instead. True story.”sad

Leave a Reply

