In which Miss Molly is burdened with glorious purpose.

Yes, I am channeling my inner Loki for this one. Not so much mayhem, more the spirit of mischievousness.

There are many a change on the wind in my library. Summer is fast approaching, and we have big plans. I am excited. We are really on top of the tech and Maker Movement, and some of the events and activities that will be happening are going to be stellar. Of course, I will keep you all posted.

In the meantime, our regularly scheduled programming is beginning to wind down, that is, all except for my biggest program of the year: Free Comic Book Day.

I love this day. Not only is it fabulously fun, but I get to partner with two comic book shops who literally kick some serious butt and donate a heap of comic books to us each year: The Eye Opener in Newington and Richie’s Comic Cabana in Waterbury. These guys are rock stars. Not only are they super nice and friendly, but they are helpful. Partnering with them has been one of the best decisions I’ve made so far.

I also get to press all my friends into service as superheroes. I dress them up and put them on display. heroesKickin’ it Super Hero style. Yep. All those lovely heroes up there, I told them to show up, dress up, and don’t give up the dream of being a real-live super hero.  I find it really fun matching my friends to characters, and watching my patrons’ eyes light up when they see one of the heroes they’ve read about come to life. Kids love it, are in awe of it, or are so excited they get shy. Just fabulous. What you don’t see are they awesome behind the scenes camera folks. They the real MVPs.

This year, as with past years, I am organizing a trivia contest, but I’ve stepped it up. I’m also doing a villain scavenger hunt throughout the library. This coincidences with a social media campaign that we’re running to boost awareness of our social media presence. I think it will be gloriously fun. And, if it works, gloriously effective. I will update you on the campaign front when it’s over.

I’m in the process of creating a giant S.H.I.E.L.D badge to take pictures with. It will have a cutout where your photo is supposed to go, so it will look like you are an actual agent. The fun part is that I’ve made it into a S.H.I.E.L.D library card. Tie-ins. Tie-ins everywhere!

With the crazy popularity of superheroes in recent years, and a more open acceptance that liking comics and superheroes and other things once considered “nerdy”, it has been easy talking up this event. I try to make eye-catching signs to let parents know that this is happening. I talk to families who come in, especially when they’re looking for superhero books to read. I write press releases about it; and it will hopefully pay off. We had over 100 people attend last year–which is a really good turnout considering we were in a very small space. I have high hopes that this will be our biggest year yet: I booked the main section of the library, so we will have more space. I have more heroes coming than ever before (something like 18), games and prizes and all around fun.

free comic book dayIf you happen to be in Southington on May 2nd, stop by and see us! Come in costume (or don’t, that’s fine, too). Take a picture. Test your Supe knowledge with one of our quizes. Grab a comic. We’re all about the fun. (And you don’t have to be a kid,or have a kid, to enjoy this!)

Just make sure to say hi! I’ll be Supergirl.

Leave a Reply

