In which Miss Molly keeps on keepin’ on.

It has been an exciting summer, full of changes for me; some good, some difficult, but all beneficial.

The library has been crazy, wonderfully, and exhaustively busy. I wouldn’t have it any other way, of course, but it does make it difficult to find me time to take care of all the fun things I want to accomplish–you know, like updating blog posts. But, my silence just means I’m in the thick of it, and (to me) that’s what it’s all about anyway. Getting to talk about it is only half the fun!

I had my big summer program this past week. It was a Princess and Superhero party. It. Was. Beyond. Fabulous. And a run-away hit. I conscripted The Hero Army, the cosplay group that I’m a part of, to come to the library. Our new initiative this year is the Princess Platoon–Disney Princesses for days. cindy2With a successful first launch at Connecticon, our next stop was the library. I had activity stations set up to make crowns and masks, I had trivia, and search and finds, and Cinderella’s missing slipper around the library; but none of that mattered once the kids saw the heroes and princesses. It was an hour and a half of hugs and pictures and laughing and awe-struck kids. It was wonderful, and definitely the energizing kick I needed for the penultimate week of our Summer Reading Program. cindy1This was the entire group of awesome heroes and princesses who volunteered their time to come to the library…driving from all over the state. These guys are the absolute best. I love them, and they are basically family. I am incredibly happy to be part of such an amazing group of people. (I’m Cinderella, BTW! Can you say “Dream come true!”?)

Speaking of Heroes in the library, my second article is up on Comics, Cosplay, and Geek Culture in Libraries; it’s called Throwing a Superhero Bash at Your Library. AND, a separate website dealing with teen programming in the library picked it up! Which is awesome. So many exciting things coming together. I love that several things I love (cosplay, the library, library programming….) are picking up so much speed. It’s great to see the creativity. I hope that what I do inspires someone else to create something awesome.

I’ll leave you now with a few images from the Princess/Superhero night! For more, checkout the album on the Southington Kids’ Place Facebook page.

cindy

Leave a Reply

